Welcome Home...THANK YOU FOR BEING A PART OF OUR COMMUNITY

We all wish there was a tactical folder out there that could match the strength of a fixed blade knife. Unfortunately due to physics and common sense a folding knife is not as strong as a fixed blade there are some tactical folders out there that get pretty close to fixed blade strength. Judging from my experience I believe that a balisong style folder has the strongest locking mechanism. I personally prefer either a liner lock or lock back, because I can easily close them with one hand. I have had some pretty bad experiences in the past with frame lock folders. Even though I have had lots of frame locks break on me I am still attracted to their intriguing simplistic design. I recently purchase a SOG Trident and have not had an Arc lock break on me but I still question the design and strength of the locking mechanism. I think that the strongest folder I have in my collection right now is a tie between my Spyderco Tenacious and My CRKT Triumph or Hissatsu. One of these days I will be able to afford a ZT, Emerson, and Strider.

1.) In your opinion which locking mechanism is the strongest and which do you prefer?

2.) Also which tactical folder in you collection has the strongest lock up?

Tags: CRKT, Emerson, Hissatsu, Tenacious, Triumph, ZT, folder, tactical

Views: 1806

Replies to This Discussion

I think that the strongest locking mechanism for folding knives is a lock back. I think the BM Axis Lock and any button locking knife(i.e. CRKT Pharaoh) are a close second. I have never had either of these locking mechanisms fail on me. I have not had as much luck with liner locks or frame locks.

The two knives that have the best lock up in my collection are my Spyderco Delica and my BM Mini Griptilian. I have never had to adjust or tighten the pivot screw on either knives and I have used them very hard.

Keelen