Welcome Home...THANK YOU FOR BEING A PART OF OUR COMMUNITY

Since I started learning how to sharpen knives about 12 years ago, I have progressed through different techniques and hones. Each time I learned something new. Some things reconfirmed what I believed already. Others made me rethink my opinions. When I bought my Shapton Glass Stones this fall, I formed initial opinions, but they have changed or evolved as I have used them more. It's experience, the more you have the more you know, and the better you can assess you situation.
In another post on here I commented that the finer the grit, the more exact each stroke needs to be. I now believe that I was wrong. I'm going to attempt to explain why I am now of that belief. It all goes back to my experience with convex edges and post I have recently read about Edge Pros and other blade holding devices.
For 2 years prior to purchasing the Shaptons, I was into convex edges. Everything I had in the house had a convex edge on it, kitchen knives to pocket knives. I sharpened them with sand paper and strops with compounds. It is a very efficient and effective way of sharpening. That was my preferred method, but many people like to use stones for convex sharpening. They rock the blade while they are making each stroke. By doing so, they are honing the entire bevel. The key being, they are consistently honing the apex.
With an Edge Pro, you can hone a completely flat bevel all the while honing the apex on each stroke. While this is efficient, it is not necessary that the bevel be completely flat. What is necessary is that the apex be refined with the stone you are using before moving to a finer grit.
When free hand sharpening, you will never make the same stroke twice. Therefore, you will have a convex edge, however slight that may be. The key here is the same as before. You must refine the apex before moving on.